TBA digital

Web Application Firewall

In the last 6 months we had successfully tested a web application firewall for our own domain TBA-Berlin.de. This is software that always precedes other installed web programs and checks for unusual actions or even intrusion attempts according to certain filter systems.

We can now offer a new web application firewall to interested customers with a maintenance contract.

Typical applications

1. protection of special software / older software

For example, you are forced to run certain special software or older programming. Reasons can be, for example, a special interface to your accounting or the further development of the urgently needed software has been discontinued. The robustness against the very current threats from the Internet is difficult to assess after a while.

Malicious requests are intercepted by an upstream firewall using the latest technology before reaching the actual (older) software and potentially causing damage.

2. responsibilities under the GDPR.

The new data protection regulation obliges website operators to secure their websites when personal data is collected.

So if personal data is collected, a firewall simply provides an extra layer of protection in critical cases.

3. reputation

There is no such thing as 100% secure programming. Reputational damage can occur if, in the event of a successful attack, manipulated websites deliver malicious code to your visitors or expose others to malicious attacks in the time between attack and discovery. Google often even takes hacked websites out of the search index for a while, your website will simply not be found anymore.

Here a firewall helps, as an additional protection according to the newest technology, so that such a case does not occur at all.

3. customer interactions (shops, member areas)

The likelihood of successful attacks increases with the complexity of a system, especially in content management (WordPress, etc.). Often, after an attack, you can restore a previously backed up version and the tampering would be automatically removed. But sometimes you would lose important data, especially if the backup was done a while ago. This can be especially critical for shop systems, newsletter registrations, forums, membership areas.

Also, a firewall helps prevent attacks as an additional independent layer of protection.

Will the website slow down with a firewall?

Our test result shows: The protection software is so fast that you virtually don’t notice it, and it doesn’t interfere with downstream software if it’s set up correctly.

More news

TBA-BERLIN

Web-Application-Firewall

A Data Center
In den letzten 6 Monaten hatten wir für unsere eigene Domain TBA-Berlin.de erfolgreich eine Web-Application-Firewall getestet. Das ist eine Software, die anderen installierten Web-Programmen stets vorgeschaltet ist und nach bestimmten Filtersystemen prüft, ob ungewöhnliche Aktionen oder sogar Einbruchsversuche probiert werden.

Interessierten Kunden mit einem Wartungsvertrag können wir nun eine neue Web Application Firewall bieten.

Typische Anwendungsfälle

1. Absicherung vom Spezialsoftware / ältere Software

Sie sind zum Beispiel gezwungen, bestimmte Spezialsoftware oder ältere Programmierungen laufen zu lassen. Gründe können zum Beispiel eine besondere Schnittstelle zu Ihrer Buchhaltung sein oder die Weiterentwicklung der dringend benötigte Software wurde eingestellt. Die Robustheit gegenüber den ganz aktuellen Bedrohungen aus dem Internet ist nach einer Weile nur noch schwer einschätzbar.

Bösartige Anfragen werden über eine vorgeschaltete Firewall nach neuster Technologie abgefangen, bevor die eigentliche (ältere) Software erreicht wird und möglicherweise Schaden anrichten kann.

2. Verantwortlichkeiten nach der DSGVO

Die neue Datenschutzverordnung verpflichtet Website-Betreiber, ihre Websites abzusichern, wenn persönliche Daten erhoben werden.

Sollten also persönliche Daten erhoben werden, bietet eine Firewall in kritischen Fällen einfach eine zusätzliche Schutzebene.

3. Reputation

100 % sichere Programmierung gibt es nicht. Ein Reputationsschaden kann entstehen, wenn im Falle eines erfolgreichen Angriffs in der Zeit zwischen Angriff und Entdeckung manipulierte Websites Ihren Besuchern Schadcode ausliefert oder anderen bösartige Attacken aussetzt. Google nimmt sogar gehackte Websites oft für eine Zeit aus dem Suchindex, Ihre Website wird dann schlicht nicht mehr gefunden.

Hier hilft eine Firewall, als zusätzlicher Schutz nach neuester Technologie, damit so ein Fall gar nicht erst eintritt.

3. Kunden-Interaktionen (Shops, Memberbereiche)

Die Wahrscheinlichkeit erfolgreicher Angriffe steigt mit der Komplexität eines Systems, insbesondere im Content-Manegement (WordPress etc.). Oft kann man nach einem Angriff eine zuvor gesicherte Version wieder einspielen, die Manipulation wäre so automatisch entfernt. Manchmal würde man dadurch aber wichtige Daten verlieren, speziell, wenn das Backup schon eine Weile zurückliegt. Kritisch kann das insbesondere sein bei Shopsystemen, Newsletter-Anmeldungen, Foren, Mitgliedsbereichen.

Auch hilft eine Firewall als eine zusätzliche unabhängige Schutzebene, Angriffe zu verhindern.

Wird die Website mit einer Firewall langsamer?

Unser Testergebnis zeigt: Die Schutzsoftware ist so schnell, dass man sie quasi nicht bemerkt und stört die nachgeschaltete Software nicht, wenn sie richtig eingestellt ist.

Weitere News

TBA-BERLIN